The ten-sided Toll House was built in 1814 and is attached to the fifteenth century Clopton Bridge, a Scheduled Monument. Within 25 years the levying of a toll had ended and the building and adjacent area, known as Avon Wharf, was bought by James Cox, a timber merchant. The Toll House is most associated with the subsequent 150 years of use as an office within Cox’s Yard. It is an iconic small structure occupying a prominent position on a busy road into the town. After Cox’s business closed in 1997, the former Toll House no longer had a use. Due to the condition of the building it was under risk of been lost until the Stratford Historic Buildings Trust with the help of the The Heritage Lottery Fund (HLF) awarded a grant for restoration works.
The restoration project will preserve the historic fabric of the building and provide it with a new use as office space at ground floor and mezzanine level. In addition, the project will include a public display area in the basement and the delivery of a range of activities to explore both the history of the Toll House and also the wider industrial heritage of Stratford, much of which was originally located along the River Avon and around the canal basin.
Duo Electrical were set the objective of rewiring the building supplying the installation with power points, LED lighting, fire alarm system and data hub. A UPS system was also installed providing the building with back up supply for the lighting incase a power cut occurred.